"Until The Quiet Comes" by Flying Lotus

Flying Lotus
Until The Quiet Comes

Warp Records


It is not a coincidence that the songs that I really liked on this album were the ones that were longer than a Dilla Donut and that featured vocal performances. I remarked in my review of Thundercat's last album that having vocals on the tracks seemed to focus Thundercat. Well, I think that is also true for Flying Lotus. Still, if you liked his old material, you'll still find plenty to love here as well.

Let's get this part out of the way quickly. It's been a MINUTE since I've updated this joint called Sonink. Man, 2012 was a pretty rough year for me both personally and professionally. It culminated in the perfect explosion of awesome (personal) and horrible (professional) but thankfully 2013 looks to be a lot better in both respects. The first review I ever posted on Sonink was for Flying Lotus's "Los Angeles" so I thought it fitting to get back on the review horse with his last album. I listened to a ton of music in 2012 and hopefully, I'll be able to post more reviews with some amount of regularity but who knows. Okay, enough of that stuff. Y'all don't come hear to hear me whine about myself. You come here to hear me whine about music. So, FlyLo...

...FlyLo is still ill. But to me, this is the weakest release so far. It's still incredible. It's just not as good as the previous two. Still, admittedly I'm nit-picking. But hey, that's what reviews are supposed to do!

The second half of this album is much better than the first half. As previously stated, for the most part it's the tracks with featured appearances that truly stand out. There are some marquee guest appearances here from the likes of Erykah Badu and Thom Yorke. Yet for me the Laura Darlington and Niki Randa tracks are the best of these.

The Erykah Badu assisted "See Thru To U" is by no means an Erykah Badu song. It is definitely a FlyLo production in that the vocals are not but at the forefront but rather used sparsely to accentuate the rest of the sounds. The same goes for the Thom Yorke assisted "Electric Candyman". Thom Yorke seems like the perfect fit for a Flying Lotus song, especially if you've heard anything off of his "The Eraser" (which remains one of the albums I listen to in its entirety on a regular basis). Thom Yorke on Electric Candyman is practically not recognizable though since he used in the same manner as Erykah Badu is on her guest spot earlier in the album. Still, I'm digging it. It doesn't feel like what you might expect a collaboration between these two to feel like (if so, Thom's vocals would be more in your face) but as a FlyLo joint, it works well. I especially like the syncopated irregular heartbeat bass drum (think early Massive Attack).

The shorter tracks on the album don't go anywhere really and they don't grab me enough to be a worthy "Donut" (to those of you who don't get that reference, J. Dilla put out a classic album featuring "Donuts" which were beats that lasted in the 30 second to 1 minute range and featured lots of amazing tracks that were looped in longer productions featuring full-on guest MC appearances).

I have to talk about my first 2-rated Flying Lotus song. It pains me to say that "Sultan's Request" was not meant for my ears. I guess it's supposed to be "Dubstep" without the drop? I don't know. I don't get it. It almost seems like it wants to become better, but then, it doesn't.

Of those tracks featuring no-guest appearances, "Heave(n)" and "me Yesterday//Corded" are special. "Heave(n)" features a tribal backbeat that equaled instant headnod for yours truly. I would love a remix with MobbDeep. "me Yesterday//Corded" is classic FlyLo to me with it's souled-out slow build that explodes into hyper-soulspace in a truly remarkable manner.

I still love Flying Lotus. I still love writing about music. He should keep making music so that when I need motivation to get back into the writing spirit his music can provide it.

Thanks Flying Lotus, and thanks to all you readers (you do exist, right?) for being patient.

4.000 out of 5

Track Ratings

1. All In (02:59) 4
2. Getting There (feat. Niki Randa) (01:49) 5
3. Until The Colours Come (01:07) 3
4. Heave(n) (02:22) 4
5. Tiny Tortures (03:03) 3
6. All The Secrets (01:56) 4
7. Sultan's Request (01:42) 2
8. Putty Boy Strut (02:53) 5
9. See Thru To U (feat. Erykah Badu) (02:24) 5
10. Until The Quiet Comes (02:40) 3
11. DMT Song (feat. Thundercat) (01:19) 3
12. The Nightcaller (03:29) 3
13. Only If You Wanna (01:42) 4
14. Electric Candyman (feat. Thom Yorke) (03:32) 5
15. Hunger (feat. Niki Randa) (03:39) 5
16. Phantasm (feat. Laura Darlington) (03:51) 5
17. me Yesterday // Corded (04:39) 5
18. Dream To Me (01:36) 4